NHRA has been rapidly charting new frontiers, and the upcoming NHRA Virginia Nationals will showcase two of its latest efforts. Not only will the event hosted by Virginia Motorsports Park become an unprecedented two day national event where professional teams qualify on Saturday and race on Sunday, it will also feature title sponsorship for its new PlayNHRA, an initiative that provides fans opportunities to engage in fantasy games, gaming, and betting for NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series events.

The PlayNHRA Virginia Nationals, June 21 - 23, 2024, serves as the ninth of 20 races during the 2024 NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series season.
PlayNHRA, NHRA’s partnerships with leading sports books and fantasy sports providers, enables fans to sign up for free and legally wager on national events and other outcomes in the NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series. Odds will be released and wagers will be accepted during the race at Virginia Motorsports Park. 
“We’re extremely excited about PlayNHRA and this is another great opportunity to spread awareness about this initiative,” NHRA Vice President and Chief Development Officer Brad Gerber said. “PlayNHRA is the ideal destination for fans to make safe and regulated betting on NHRA drag racing, participate in fantasy games and feel even closer to the action.”


Winners in 2022 included Brittany Force (Top Fuel), Robert Hight (Funny Car) and Matt Smith (Pro Stock Motorcycle). This year, the event will again be broadcast on FS1, including eliminations at 5 p.m. ET on Sunday, June 23.

Returning to Virginia in 2024 is Pro Stock, which is led by points leader Dallas Glenn. There’s a host of standout competitors, including reigning and six-time world champ Erica Enders, and five-time champs Greg Anderson and Jeg Coughlin Jr. No active driver in the Pro Stock ranks has won at VMP.

NHRA Mission Foods Drag Racing Series qualifying features three rounds of action on Saturday, June 22 at 11 a.m., 2 p.m. and 5 p.m. ET, with eliminations beginning at 12 p.m. on Sunday, June 23. Television coverage includes qualifying action at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday and Sunday. Finals coverage starts at 5 p.m. on Sunday on FS1.